KUWAIT: The Indian Community School Kuwait, Amman (ICSK - Amman) conducted its investiture ceremony for the academic year 2021-2022 recently. As per the current guidelines, the ceremony was held online with equal enthusiasm and vigor as usual. The newly elected members were duly sworn in during the solemn occasion.

Earlier, the nominations to contest in the senate election was filed by the selected candidates on April 14, 2021.This year, there were 51 contestants vying for various positions in the senate. Subsequently, "Meet the Candidate" program was held online on 18th wherein the contestants were allowed to express their visions to the students of classes VII to X.

The online senate election was conducted on 20th April 2021 with students from classes VII to X casting their votes to elect their leaders. ICSK Amman declared the result of the election on 21st April and proudly presented its eight-core Senate and eight respective House Captains and Vice Captains.

The investiture ceremony, an occasion where the young students were prepared to don the mantle of leadership and discharge the responsibilities entrusted to them by the school was held on May 20, 2021. The solemn ceremony commenced at 10:30 am with our vivacious and lively anchors striking the right chord immediately. The event began with the recitals from the Holy Quran followed by the National Anthems of Kuwait and India which was then followed by the lighting of the lamp.

The Chief Guest of the program was Abdul Sageer, Business Head - PowerGen, Cummins Kuwait Company and General Convener Kuwait Engineers' Forum. The other dignitaries who graced the occasion were Dr V Binumon, Principal, ICSK Senior and Senior Administrator, Vice Principals Sheeja Ravi, Susan Rajesh and Deputy Vice Principals Mini Shaji, Sushmeeta Prakash of other branches of ICSK and HR and Admin Officer Deepak Kumar Seth.

Principal Rajesh Nair delivered the welcome speech and extended a warm welcome to the Chief Guest Engr. Abdul Sageer and felicitated him by presenting a memento. He congratulated the newly appointed Senate Members and wished them well. The highlights of the program were the presentation of entire electoral process, the investiture of the Senate followed by Oath taking by the newly elected senate members. The president of the School, Lakshita Karthikeyan gave the acceptance speech on behalf of all the members.

The Chief Guest was cordially introduced by the Senate Advisor Sumitra Nandakumar. In his address, the Chief Guest Abdul Sageer after congratulating the newly elected members urged them to take up the responsibilities, use opportunities and balance them well with academics. His pearls of wisdom were truly motivating and inspiring to everyone present.

The school choir in sync with the occasion belted out an inspirational song "we are unstoppable", which was enthralling and melodious. The school senate members 2021-2022 spoke briefly expressing their heartfelt gratitude and promises. The vote of thanks was rendered by the Vice Principal Dr Mary Isaac.